In our recent ECMP 355 class we had a guest speaker.  Silvia Tolisano spoke to us about global education. She explained why it is important that we connect ourselves and our class rooms to other countries. Many People will ask the question: Why do we need to connect with others? Her answer was simple; because we learn from them. What I personally found really interesting is how there is a program set up so that different schools around the world can skype with one another and learn from each other. If you were learning about europe or Russia, it would be a lot more fun and facinating learning it from a European or Russian person. She had mentioned how it gives learning a WOW factor, and she is totally right. If I had the chance to do something like this when I was in high school it would have made the the facts a lot more fun, and I would propably learn more that way; becasue I would be taking in everything that person said. It was so interesting to hear how this sort of thing is happening around the world and it is an actual program that you and your school can sign up for.

I am a math major so it would be hard to incorporate something like this with a math lesson. However I am a social minor, and if I ever get to teach a social or history class, something like this would be very beneficial. When I become a teacher I am definetly going to look into all of the tools and programs that the are at hand for me to use. If they are all there, there is no reason for me not to use them. It will only improve my teaching, and my students learning ability.

I would like to thank Silvia Tolisano for what she has taught me and the class. I will not forget about her and her ideas once I am graduated and teaching on my own.

About nicolewallin

I am a first year universtiy student. I am in the faculty of education where my major is math and my miinor is social.

2 responses »

  1. Cole Hintz says:

    Check out this website I came across, I’m sure there are a lot of different ones that math teachers could use as well. http://www.globalmathcircle.org/

Leave a Reply

